Study Abroad - Rome

Abroad in Rome

Sincerest apologies for my lack of posts over the past couple of months. After my finals, I returned home where I do not have Internet access, and I was too busy to make it to a coffee shop and use their WiFi.

But on the bright side, this post is brought to you from Rome, Italy!

I’m currently studying abroad in Rome at the Intercollegiate Center for Classical Studies aka the Centro. I arrived here yesterday afternoon, and I am having difficulty overcoming jet-lag. It’s a little after 11 pm right now in Rome, and I am wide awake. Hopefully I will adjust to the time difference by Monday which is when classes start.

But my sleep schedule isn’t all that interesting.

What’s interesting is the park I explored today with a few of my fellow classmates. The park, known as the Villa Doria Pamphili, is just down the street from the Centro, and it is rather large. In fact, it’s the largest landscaped park in Rome. We didn’t even get through a fraction of it. We passed grassy areas, fountains, a maze made of hedges, orange trees, little green birds, a theatre, and a lake in which an absurd amount of ducks were swimming. The park felt endless. I will definitely be going back, especially if that maze opens up to the public which I think it might when the weather gets warmer.

Image

Standing behind a small waterfall looking at the water that leads to the lake.

I don’t have much more to say about it other than that it was beautiful and peaceful. It was rather quiet for a park, I felt, but that might be because of the season. Perhaps it will become more active in the spring. However, I enjoyed the quietness; it makes the park a great place to unwind, read, or have a picnic.

Tomorrow I plan to explore more of Rome and figure out the bus system, which will be very important for getting to the various sites I will be having class at. I will do my best to write about my adventures and other things that come to mind.

Until my next post,

– Cat

Leave a Reply

